Confessions of a nerd Part II

Everybody, there’s something I need to get off my chest: I am a nerd. Yes, I am an avid Boston sports fan. Yes, I spend too much time at the gym. But deep inside I am as weird as everyone else. I say everyone because I have a hunch that I am not alone: behind our mainstream interest and normal-person façades, we all have our oddities—our guilty pleasures, if you will. Below are some more of my nerdy secrets most people do not know about. I hope that this post can inspire others to share their guilty pleasures as well because let’s be honest: being a nerd is a lot more fun than being normal! Don’t forget to check out part one and part three!

Cat Glasses Dreaming Kitten

“One day I will unlock the secret to time travel…and making the vacuum cleaner go away.”

I love video games

As someone who spent his childhood hunched over the GameBoy Color, I can safely say that I know far too much about video games. Most people understand the basic features of Super Mario Galaxy or Call of Duty, but few have spent time researching and analyzing the design decisions behind them. Did you know that Mario was originally a carpenter? That publishers told Call of Duty’s developers a modern theme would never sell?I can name all of Sony Computer Entertainment’s top in-house developers and detail the strengths and weaknesses of their IPs. While the majority of fans have no interest in the processes behind making their favorite games, I love learning about the programming and design that create the final product. After all, isn’t saving the princess even more rewarding after spending all night reading about her coding?

Super Mario Galaxy 2 Yoshi Screenshot Wallpaper

This plumber is my childhood.

CNN is my favorite app

Did I catch last night’s episode of Modern Family? No, but I certainly made time to read about Mitt Romney’s tax reports. I follow politics like other people follow sports—I need to be up-to-the-minute on everything from the local senate race to the uprisings in the Middle East. While other people spend their free time dashing across Temple Run or scrolling through Facebook, I turn to CNN to for the latest news.  Sad to see baseball coming to a close? Never fear! Supreme Court season is just around the corner.

Supreme Court 2012 2013 Justices

In spite of his slump at the end of the 2011 season, analysts expect Thomas to dissent above .250 this Fall.

Can’t. Get. Enough. Mad Men.

Yes, I admit it: I am obsessed with Mad Men. The story, writing, and flawless 1960s setting have me hooked. Don Draper adorns the wall above my desk, and Mad Men Blu-rays fill my TV cabinet. I secretly hope that thin ties come back in style so my suits can look like Roger Sterling’s. Watching the show makes me feel as though I am living in the 1960s, experiencing every cultural and political shock as though they were taking place outside my door. The characters’ rocky transitions to modernity serve as a reminder…oh, I’m sorry. I’m boring you again. Please keep reading. Don’t leave.

Mad Men Wallpaper

Hello, Sunday night.

So what are your nerdy secrets? Don’t be shy; please share them in the comments section below! As always, please like, share, or reblog this post if you enjoy it. Be sure to check me out on Twitter and Facebook as well. Thanks for reading! Don’t forget to subscribe for new content every Wednesday! IT’S FREE! Now go check out part one and part three!

Page:   1   2  3

Click here to read last week’s post: The Road to the Multiverse!

 

Comment question of the week

What’s your nerdy secret?

4 thoughts on “Confessions of a nerd Part II

  1. Does spending inordinate amounts of time finding and pinning (to my Pinterest board) pictures of Precarious Places count? I’m addicted. I’ve always felt a bit nerdy and definitely abnormal, but this might be the weirdest passion I’ve ever indulged in.

    Loved your blog!

Leave a comment. You know you want to...

